Cherry Shrimp Questions

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

AC Members
Mar 2, 2005
Dallas, Texas
Hello, I recently saw some Cherry Shrimp online and thought they would make a neat addition to my tank. I'm still new to aquariums in general, and have no experience whatsoever with anything other than fish. I have a 55 gallon tank that cycled about 6 weeks ago. I have 5 Harlequin Rasboras, 3 Pakistani(yo-yo) Loaches, and a pair of Snails. Over the next few months I'd like to add 3 Angelfish and a pair of Dwarf Gourami. Long term (depending on how big everyone else gets) I may also add a few Mollys. I have live plants and a medium sized gravel/flourite strata. My pH is 7.8. Would Cherry Shrimp fit well with my tank? If so what would be a good number of them to add? How do shrimp compare to fish as far as their contirbutions to Ammonia, waste, general messiness? In other words is there a formula for X number of shrimp equals Y number/size of fish for determining the best poplutation for a tank? Thank you!

jonathan03

AC Members
Feb 12, 2005
I'm not so sure these shrimp would be the best for you right away. I have heard that they are sensitive to the water so you will need to keep the big three in control. I wouldn't be worried about the shrimp generating wastes, but the wastes killing the shrimp.

They really prefer a palnted tank and like to eat the algae off plants.

Start playing the bag pipes if you put an anglefish in with these shrimp. I've heard that they will kill the shrimp. The gourami might be agressive to these shrimp as well. These shrimp are usually less than an inch.

These shrimp are kind of expensive and you should really have a firm grasp of keeping the water clean before you get them. They need a little bit of algae in the tank to eat also. You should get a little more as your tank gets older.