Agressive Mollies and Betta

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

monkeemeg4

Wishes her fished lived in harmony
Jul 14, 2005
Hello! This is my first time posting on this forum. I've been reading over a lot of advice, and it's helped me a lot already :)

Anyways, I'm having problems with my molly and betta fish. Without getting into a huge story, this is what happened. Last week my boyfriend won me a fish at the fair. Not wanting it to die, I put it in a 10 gallon tank. The next day I bought a filter, gravel, food, decorations. I was so excited with my fish and was excited to take up this new hobby. I also bought Jungle tablets which I placed in the tank to rid of the chlorine and other chemicals. The next day I went back to the pet store, wanting to get another fish to keep my other one company. Now let me tell you, I had no idea about "New Tank Syndrome" at this point. Basically, I didn't know too much, just what the pet store guy told me. So, I ended up getting another fish. :thud: I got a betta. I didn't really know how aggressive these things could get, and the pet store guy told me it would be "fine". I felt bad for it because it was in a tiny jar and looked really depressed. I put the betta in the tank and observed. He seemed friendly (probably just shock haha) and left my fair fish alone.