Mono Argentus

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

airborne

AC Members
Aug 27, 2005
hi i'm new to the hobby and am looking for some advice on keeping monos. i saw them for sale at the lfs, and am conteplating on getting either 1 or 2. i know that they are supposedly a brackish fish and should be slowly acclaimated to saltwater but i have heard and seen adult sized monos kept in freshwater tanks with success. my questions are as follows. 1) can monos be kept in a freshwater environment for 1 year or so successfully? as i'm planing to get a marine set up soon. 2) are monos agressive? i've done some research and have no come across any reports of fin nipping or predation, but the lfs labels them as semi agressive, unfortunately the employees there couldn't give me satisfactory answers to my questions. plz do feel free to give any advice. thanx.

svtcontour

AC Members
Aug 6, 2004
Visit site
I used to have 3 monos which 2 eventually died and one lived for about 3 years in my freshwater 100 gallon tank. At the time, all my other fish were cichlids. I had a 5" long mono and believe me (no joke) that it would defend itself like no other fish i've seen. I had a 10" oscar, 8" dempsy and a 6" red devil. The oscar and dempsy were big and mellow and didnt bother anyone. The red devil wouldnt really bother the bigger cichlids but it decided the mono was a target. After getting chased around for a couple days the mono decided to hold its ground and any time the red devil would charge, it would dodge the charge and hit the RD on the side or in the back. It would actually then chase the RD because overall it was the faster fish.