Bigger tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Holmes1135

Holmes
Sep 14, 2005
Erie, PA
Hey there...I'm new to this stuff (hence the newbie forum). My parents had a 55 gallon "L" shaped aquarium set up for years before I was born and they they had even more for the years they were married before they had kids. They took the tank down when I was about 6 and it has been sitting in our loft ever since (I'm 18). Anyway, for the past 5 months I have been trying to keep my 10 gallon tank and I have been doing rather well I think and I would like to upgrade. I have been going up in the loft for the past couple weeks digging through our junk and I now know that we don't have any equipment any more for the tank. The only things we have are the stones for the bottom (2 buckets of them that I have to clean) the tank itself (which needs a good scrub-down) and it's stand (which I have to get the rust off and re-paint).
I understand the task set before me and I am going to clean the tank and stand tonight before I go to church but I know I need to get a filter and a heater. The tank already has a hood and lights so I'm good there. Any suggestions for this stuff, I don't want to spend too much money seeing as how I am a broke college student, but I just want to get some input.

Thanks in advance,
Andrew

wataugachicken

The Dancing Banana
Jul 14, 2005
Charlotte, NC
i would drag that tank out to the garage or some other water-safe place and fill it up to make sure that all the seams are still intact. after that long in the attic, esp. if it is unheated/uncooled they may have dried out and it could leak. check that before you invest in anything else.

Holmes1135

Holmes
Sep 14, 2005
Erie, PA