Betta darting around; I'm concerned

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Beccarain

Registered Member
Aug 21, 2005
Hi everyone; I'm a newbie who has done hours, no days, of research since receiving my betta as an unexpected gift two months ago.

A few days ago, Boomer had a whitish speck on his tail; it’s gone but now he has a small whitish bump under his mouth. Today he started darting more often than normal; he’ll be swimming along then dart, like he’s having a spasm. Also today noticed his bottom fin is a bit shredded with some small holes (does not appear to be rotting though). It’s possible water intake caught him but perhaps it’s from brushing against his cave ornament. He does appear to be brushing against plants more often than usual.

Here are my stats:

NitrAte: 20
NitrIte: 0
Hardness GH: 150-300
Alkalinity KH: 120-180
PH: 7.8
Temp: normally 80-82
5 gal tank set up: 9 July 2005, Cycled 20 August
Water: treat combo tap/RO from lfs w/Aquasafe
Lighting: T5 8W fluorescent (on about 12 hours/day)
About 1” gravel

Weekly: vacuum surface of gravel, change out about 1g of water (20%)

Daily Feed: 4-6 hikari or similar pellets or 2-3 freeze-dried bloodworms, part of a pea once per week (little to no waste) top off water from evaporation

At the time cycled, had outbreak of planaria. I reduced feedings to current feeding schedule (I had been feeding 2x per day) and the little critters died off.

Brown algae (diatoms) also appeared around the time tank cycled; started out yellowy looking and I thought it might be the beneficial bacteria. Gradually turned to darker rust color, in clusters, more of it, and seems to be visible only on surfaces receiving direct light (none visible on the backside of a light colored gray and white decoration), including front surface of tank.