Anemone not doing so well :-(

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

chazlightning

Registered Member
Sep 19, 2005
a friend gave me a 55g tank about a month ago. he had this tank with a carpet anemone in it for just over 3 years. i'm new to all this, and think i may have killed this poor thing. i was getting major algae all over my sand bed and the glass. i tried many ways to clean the glass and filter the sand but it was so bad i couldn't see the sand anymore. so i put the fish and anemone in a smaller holding tank for a few days while i emptied the tank and cleaned all the algae off the glass and replaced the sand. got the tank back up and running for a few days and was ready to put the fish back in last night.
all are doing fine except for the anemone (large carpet. just over 12inches in diameter) and a pumping xenia i have/had (didn't make it). while putting the anemone back in it was really clinging to my net. so i gently tried to coax it off the net and a few of it's little sticky nubs stuck onto just one of the xenia for about 3 seconds. when i got home from work today the xenia was totally dead.
would the anemone have stung the coral?
if so would that have killed it?
now, this morning the anemone had moved across the tank and is now sticking to the sand bed and the glass and is about less than half the size it was yesterday and seems to be all tensed up and not moving at all. usually the little nubs are moving around a little bit. i read somewhere that when an anemone is dead or dying that it does not stick anymore. it's definetly stuck to the glass. it has not lost any color.
i have a clarki clown fish that lives with it. he is still hanging out with it but not as much as before.

so here is my question(s). (sorry for the long story)

is my anemone dead?
how long should i observe it to determine if it is? i don't have my other tank set-up now so i can't move it out.