Goldfish-foldedback gill flap

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

RUSH2112

AC Members
Sep 29, 2005
Forum newbie here. This is my first post on any forum. This forum is packed with so much info. there has not been a need to join. The seasoned experts in this forum have seen just about everything. If it has happened someone here has talk about it. Thanks for sharing the info. to us less seasoned rookies. Now, on to my problem which was talked about here in 2004. One of my goldfish has one gill flap that appears to be folded back. None of the other fish exhibit this. Wife says she has noticed this fish rubbing the gill on the rocks. I have watched and this rubbing is not constant I would say it is very rare that it happens. When it does it looks almost accidental. The affected fish is not staying at the surface or gasping. I treated for gill flukes 2 days ago and no improvement so far. I know it is early I'm just impatient. Now for the questions:

1. Obvious one... Does anyone know what it could be?
2. Should I do a salt treatment?
3. How do you do a salt treatment
4. Completly off thread... Can I get a yes or no vote on u.v. sterilizers for freshwater aquariums

Thanks for any suggestions

Koilady

AC Members
Jan 15, 2005
Goldfish Flap

Hi Rush. How long has the flap been there?

This could be a birth defect or could be due to the type of food which is fed to your fish. It could be that if there is a lack of spirulina or any other product which is high in Vitamin C, this gill problem can happen. It is also possible that the gill flap was broken during a flashing incident as you describe with the fish rubbing up against something.

Yours Koily, Lorraine :dive2:

RUSH2112

AC Members
Sep 29, 2005