Blue Ram Breeding Behavior?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Clurin

Melf
Sep 14, 2005
Maynard, MA
Hey all. I think my rams are preparing to breed, but since I have no prior experience with rams, or cichlids in general, I'm not positive. So I created a 30 second streaming video of some of the behavior. Can you tell from this if they are getting ready to breed?

Blue Ram Streaming Movie

Edit: Spelling and grammar

Emg

AC Members
Jan 16, 2005
Northeast Connecticut
emgstanks.blogspot.com
Yep...lol...that's exactly what they're doing...and I only had to see the first two frames of that video to know...lol...

What they're doing is cleaning off a surface to lay thier eggs on...and they're very busy at it too. Your female looks very ready and they'll probably have eggs by tomorrow morning.

Congrats !!

I have a pair that just layed thier eggs tonight. They spent the day cleaning off the rocks and following each other around. Fun hobby this ! :clap:

knashash

AC Members
Oct 28, 2004
Yeah definatley breeding behavior...sweet footage!

Clurin

Melf
Sep 14, 2005
Maynard, MA
Cool! Will the oto upset them? I'm pretty sure my presence won't. They stop what they're doing and come see me whenever I come up to the tank.

I'm assuming not many eggs will hatch in my current water (PH 7.4, GH7, KH2), but if they do, how many fry can I expect to survive from first time parents? I don't have a growout tank right now, but I'd like to observe them rearing their young (if they don't chow on the eggs). How big would they have to be before they're too big to feed to tiger barbs and gouramis?

knashash

AC Members
Oct 28, 2004
I would be surprised if any hatched with your PH that high

mooman

Scratch my belly Human!
Mar 8, 2005
Columbus, OH