Pleco's anticipate feeding...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Halo

Puppies with Fins!
Sep 18, 2005
I've got a nice big pleco tank, filled with big friendly armored fish (see signature). I've been feeding them on a regular schedule for a few months, and I've noticed they really seem to grasp when feeding time is.
Every other day, they get half a zuchini, split in two and lightly poached, and fresh corn on the cob, also poached. On alternate days, they get two to three fresh prawns for the meat lovers in the tank and a few algae wafers for tideover snacks for the strict veggitarians. Begging for koi food treats is accepted and encouraged anytime they get the munchies. Twice a week, they get frozen algae cubes, and a bloodworm or krill cube goes in for the guppies...
Now here's the thing. They know when it's a zuchini night. They know when it's a shrimp night. They know when it's feeding time <midnight> and they get into ready positions before I even start the pot to poach. When I approach the tank before feeding time, they don't rush up thinking I've got food.
Has anyone else noticed this kind of anticipation and awareness in their fish? I've got three big plec's hanging out in the light, counting down till midnight and eyeballing me with an air of expectation. Let's hear your brainy fish stories...

Must4ng s4lly

AC Members
Jan 9, 2004
Houston
Visit site
I don't feed on a real regular schedule time-wize, but I can tell when they think I have missed feeding. The huge plec have starts cruising the tank and sticking to the front waiting for his spinich or zuchinni. It is funny to watch. they also know when I start sticking the clips on the side of the tank, that food is coming and they don't shy from my hands..

I love plecs because you can tell what they are thinking!

long2534

AC Members
Nov 8, 2005