Tips on photographing aquariums

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

tomdkat

Da Man
Nov 29, 2005
Greetings to you all. :) I'm a newbie here so please be gentle with me. :D

Anyway, I've seen some of the pics of aquariums posted here and I've taken horrendous pics of my aquariums in the past and I'm looking for tips and tricks on taking good pics of aquariums. :)

I don't have a digital camera but am interested in getting one soon. Any info you can provide on taking good pics of aquariums would be greatly appreciated! :)

Peace...

SnakeIce

AC Members
May 4, 2002
North Ga, USA
Real Name
Frederick
The biggest help no matter what camera would be a tripod. make sure the one you get will adjust to any point on the front glass. haveing one too short can be delt with but that is a pain.

Second is light, best would be a camera that can drive an external flash. Other wise you need to put more light over your aquaium. Unless you have a high tech high light plantd tank most aquariums are to dark to capture well.

if you go for other sources of light, some way of frameing off the face of the aquarium would help with light bleed that would affect the picture since light from a source other than the focus object detracts. Basicly you don't want light from a source over the tank to be able to shine on the camera.

then it gets down to practice and trying the settings on the camera you get. I don't have experience with a manual setting camera so can't help you on those.

Emg

AC Members
Jan 16, 2005
Northeast Connecticut
emgstanks.blogspot.com
LOL MQ !!! :laugh: