I'm new, lots of advice (long)

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

NGerdes

AC Members
Jan 19, 2003
Illinois
Visit site
I've kept a 10 gallon aquarium for over a year, and think I have the fish thing down pretty good. Now I've just aquired a 40 gallon tank and want to have a planted tank. I'm not settled on the fish, but am leaning toward Angels with som kribs or rams, Harlequin Rasboras, some chain loaches, and a plece. I'm not for sure though. I do know that I want a planted tank. I've never done this before, and have done some research but came here for some advice person to person, so here we go... I'm thinking about Java ferns, Crypts and possibly some anubas, because I've been told that these are descent for beginners and are forgiving (if there is such a thing with plants). I will probably include some java moss on the driftwood I will add.

Questions:

I haven't purchased most of this stuff yet so I'm flexible on this...

-For light, I will probably go about 60 to 80 watts for 1.5 to 2 Watts/Gallon. What is the best kind? Floresent, Halogen, etc...

-For a filter, should I go with a canaster filter or something in a HOB or BioWheel. I know that any kind of drip filter will cause loss of CO2, so I'm reluctant about the BioWheel or HOB.

-If I do use a canaster filter, will I need any type of CO2 injection?

-What kind of substrate should I use? If I'm not mistaking, most of the plants above, (at least the Java Fern) do not need sand to root, but will root in rocks, is this correct? Should I use rocks (how big) or sand?

-I haven't gotten much on Flourite, I need some advice on this too.

Sorry for the long post... But I want to do this right the first time. Any other advice is more than welcome.

thom336

AC Members
Dec 17, 2002
ok...im british, so my views on planted aquaria and equipment and that may differ from yours. but...