fiddler crabs

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
Mar 24, 2005
Canada
Ok so at Petsmart there's this tank that works as a general vivarium, although you can fill it half with water and then there are steps leading up to a second level so it can be half water half land. I was thinking of buying that and fiddler crabs.

I don't really know a lot about fiddler crabs and good quality care information is hard to come by. I know they need brackish water and I know they should have a source of calcium for healthy shell growth. But that's about all I know. So I have questions.

I've never done brackish or salt water before. How do I make sure I have the right amount of salt? Won't water evaporate leaving too much salt? Do I have to buy a meter thingy? Should I use aquarium salt or marine salt, or does it matter?

What do they eat? Do they need live food or will blood worms and stuff be alright?

I use they like water on the hard side, what temperature should it be?

If I put plants like java fern (I plan on having not so special lighting) will the crabs demolish them?

How many should I keep? I'm not sure about the tank capacity, it looks kind of 20 gallon long sized, with about a third of it to be filled with water. I might be off with the size, and it has a bow front. If anyone knows what I'm talking about and knows the size it would be great if you could correct me.

Ok I think that's all my questions for now, thanks in advance if anyone knows anything.

snakeskinner

AC Members
Dec 27, 2003
Oklahoma
www.okcaa.org