new tank startup ..help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

onepawnup

AC Members
Jan 2, 2006
I am very new to this hobby
I bought an established tank from a friend 45 gal it contained an ocsar (12 inches) a pleco (about 8 inches) and a clown loach (4-5 inches) my wife really disliked the oscar as he was a bully so i gave him to a friend where he lives in a 50 gal with a pleco. i have added mostly cheap fish (mollies platies, danos, and neons (they disapeared, not sure what ate them ) i wanted to make sure i could keep them alive before adding other more expensive fish
my question for this tank is about the clown loach, i have never seen him eat
i have had the tank for two months so im sure he does also he is very shy.. would adding anothe clown loach help even if its much smaller ??

2nd question
Now that im getting hooked on all this
i found a friend that can get me a tank built for cost so im looking at getting one thats 7-8 ft by 28 inches deep by 2.5 tall aprox 285-300 gal
according to volume calc i found on the net. Any way tank is all i would have so i will be needing filters lighting ect ect. im thinking of housing african cichlids in it but not sure

what all do i need ? how many fish can i keep ect
all help is appreciated ...i know next to nothing so please talk as simply as possible
if you had a bare 300 gal tank what would you do ???

Thanks
onepawnup

Bosemani Fan

AC Members
Oct 15, 2005
Tennessee
onepawnup said:
I am very new to this hobby