Cory Cat's Dying

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

rockbellab

AC Members
Nov 21, 2005
Turtle Lake, ND
Hi, I'm new to Cory Cat's so I really need help. Here's the information. The reason I'm writing is I've lost 5 Cory Cats in a week. I've tried to give you all the information that you need to help me.

Quarantine Tank set up on Friday, February 10th.
Tank: 20 gallon long
Water: Bottled Spring Water (my tap water is really bad)
Substrate: white sand (bought at LFS for freshwater tank, I rinsed it well).
Decorations: Two Sphinx and Egyptian pillar and one medium river rock (was boiled)
Water Temp: 78F to 80F

Tests (after set up and before fish) 2-12-06:
pH - 7.6
Ammonia - 0 ppm
Nitrite - 0 ppm
Nitrate - 0 ppm

80% water change on 2-17-06 (I thought this might help the fish, probably didn't)

Tests today 2-20-06:
pH - 8.0
Ammonia - 0.50 to 1.0ppm (I know that's not good)
Nitrite - 0 ppm
Nitrate - 0 ppm

I've lost four of seven Spotted Cory's, one of two Sterbai Cory's and I still have the three Bronze Cory's. The Spotted and Bronze Cory's are from the LFS and the Sterbai are from an online aquaria place. I ordered four Sterbai but only two arrived alive, one died two days later and one is still alive and kicking.

I will do a water change to help with the Ammonia and pH. I didn't know pH would rise like that.

Any thoughts on what I'm doing wrong and/or ideas as how to keep the other Cory's alive?
Thanks.

CatLover

Rummy Nose Tetra Fanatic
Jan 4, 2006
Texas
Is the tank cycled? Does it have any addatives such as salt? What are you feeding them? Temperature?

Sorry to ask so many questions, just trying to understand the situation.

I have spotted cories, peppered cories, and panda cories. So, I have kept cories before, maybe I can help.

rockbellab

AC Members
Nov 21, 2005
Turtle Lake, ND