Justed started New tank 3 days ago killed 3 striped damselfish

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

craignshari

Registered Member
Oct 26, 2005
:look: Hi newbie here,
Just started new tank 3 days ago killed 3 striped damselfish.
I got this tank from someone from craigslist 75g acrylic going to be a fowlr
I only have an aquaclear70 filter with live rock 2 Rio plus 1400 for movement
Going to use protein skimmer when it’s cycled, maybe get a sump as well,
Thanks in advance Craig

fjpod

AC Members
Feb 9, 2005
Doesn't sound like it could be ammonia toxicity, because it's too soon. How's your temperature? Salinity? pH?

Cartman102

Respect my authoritaw!!
Mar 14, 2006
Branson, MO
Well you can't just rush in and put fish in :idea2: . Your tank probably didn't even make it through the first stage of the cycle process. The ammonia probably what got them killed.Fjpod, I agree it could of been anything. Next time let your tank cycle with cocktail shrimp or CYCLE (can be found at your lfs in a bottle). Your filtration plans sound great! ;)

TKOS

Registered User of Fish
Feb 6, 2003
Nova Scotia, Canada
tkos.unsta.com
Read up on cycling fish tanks and skip the damsels unless you want a tank full of damsels. They are next to impossible to remove later on and they get aggressive. Plus it is rather cruel to cycle with fish when there are better options.

The Cycle in a bottle product isn't really a great option though. Marine Bio-Spira is a good choice if you can find it.

fastbackgly

Molecular Cell Biology Major
Feb 24, 2006
San Diego, CA