Opinion: Ghost shrimp affecting bioload

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

nerdyguy83

AC Members
May 11, 2006
Erie, PA, US
I have to leave town for the month of June and unfortunately there is no way I can bring the tank (both because I would have little place to keep it and there's no sense stressing out all of the fish). I'm training a friend to clean the tank, test the water, feed the fish, etc. (it's a risk, I know).

My question is this: If I were to buy a ghost shrimp, would this have a positive effect on the bioload in the sense that it would eat a lot of fallen flakes and whatnot (since this person will probably overfeed a little) and make careful gravel vacing slightly less important or would it increase the bioload, make the tank unstable, and endanger all the fish with a complete newb at the helm?

If you think it will have a positive effect, would it be even better if I get 2 shrimp instead of just one?

mtiller

wolf-pac
Jun 29, 2005
Georgia, United States
i'd suggest about 5-10 for a 10g i have 14 in total, with the four (three females, two with eggs, one without, one male, the other one jumped out and died lol...) others in my 10g. you would want a pretty good clean up crew for a month. i'd suggest gettin those, or maybe even a pigmy cory to help too.

RTR

AC Members
Oct 5, 1998
Braddock Heights, MD
One ounce of ghosts will have the same effect on bioload as one ounce of guppies, or any other fish. Mass counts. Mass uses oxygen and releases CO2 and ammonia. If it is alive and eats and breathes, it is bioload.

nerdyguy83

AC Members
May 11, 2006
Erie, PA, US