Puffy bit by another puffer

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

lokel

AC Members
May 20, 2006
Ontario, Canada
Hi
I have 3 figure 8 puffs in a 21 gallon tank. 2 of them are big and the other 1 is little. Last night when i fed them there snails, one of the big puffers bit the lil 1 on her face. Now she has 2 teeth marks on the side of her face near her beak.
We put her in a seperate tank, but im not sure what kind of medicine i should use to heal her. She can eat her blood worms ok, but has a lil trouble with a snail.

Any advice would be great.

Thanks

Lokel

Ps. I put this thread in freshwater by accident and was informed to put it here.

wolf22t

AC Members
Jun 14, 2006
I am no puffer expert but i do have a few general tips when it come to an injured fish.

Firstly keep a close eye on the side of her face and the surrounding tissue for any signs of secondary infection

Keep her tank very CLEAN

No stress for her

If any infection starts try a site like this puffer health and disease

Hope this helps

Last edited:

fishcatch22

The Picotoper
Jun 13, 2006
Morris, Illinois
wolf22t said:
I am no puffer expert but i do have a few general tips when it come to an injured fish.

Firstly keep a close eye on the side of her face and the surrounding tissue for any signs of secondary infection

Keep her tank very CLEAN

No stress for her

If any infection starts try a site like this puffer health and disease

Hope this helps
also, buy some fish antibiotic.(avalible from a vet or a well-equiped fish store.)

lokel

AC Members
May 20, 2006
Ontario, Canada
Thanks for the tips.