Sick Dwarf Gourami?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Lorazoo

AC Members
May 17, 2006
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Wow, thats alot of Dwarf Gouramis in your tank? Any aggression? I'm no expert but it looks like ulcers from bacterial infection. This is usually caused by poor water quality. Gouramis are very sensitive. Have you tested your water lately? How often do you do water changes? This info would be very helpful.

gaines

Ruler of the Blue Lagoon
May 14, 2006
Nashville, TN
The tank with the gouramis is a 55gallon long and the ammonia/nitrates/nitrites all look good. Other than a thin film of algae that's popped up since I've been leaving the light on, everything looks quite healthy.

Gouramis don't seem to be very active but they perk up when it's feeding time. No flashing, listing, or any other behavior to make me think they're sick.

Kiel'thalin

AC Members
Jun 12, 2006
Are you using a under the gravel filter system? I have a friend who has the same problem with his Gourami (the spots in your pic). We couldn't figure it out, has perfect water conditions and he does regular water changes. The only thing I can make sense out of it is the filtration system is fouling them up?

TheZoo

Curiouser and curiouser!
Apr 12, 2006
melting in Houston, TX