Help required for complete beginner - please!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

jammy

AC Members
Jul 22, 2006
Hi,

I have just got a tank (125 litre = 27.5 gallon) for my 13th birthday. I have it filled with water, filter, lights, heater, some pirate stuff, a couple fo plastic plants and one plant attached to a piece of bogwood. All recommended by the shop! It has now been running for three weeks and I think I am ready for fish.

I would like some Bristlenose Catfish, Corydoras and Siamese Fighting Fish - which is what I wanted the tank set up for.

I can't find any good advice on what order to put the fish in and what other fish I could have to complement these. The books I have seem to contradict each other.

I already have algae growing because it has been so warm.

My Dad said we could ask in the shop but we are afraid that the shop will only tell us to buy what they want to sell.

Any help would be great !!!!!!!!

Thanx!

rrkss

Biology is Fun
Dec 2, 2005
Hi and welcome to the hobby. The first thing you want to read up on is cycling the tank. The purpose of cycling is to build up a bacteria base responsible for breaking down fish urine in order to render it non toxic. Without this bacteria the fish will literly poison themselves.

http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64301 is a very detailed article on this cycling process. Pick a method in there (I reccommend fishless) and cycle the tank. For fish if you choose a Siamese Fighting Fish, you can only have one in the tank (if you have a male) since they will kill each other if you have more than one. I would reccommend a school of 9 Tiger Barbs if you want some action. Tiger Barbs tend to fight each other and it is fun to watch.

jammy

AC Members
Jul 22, 2006