Filter current looks too strong

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

johnsl

AC Members
Aug 22, 2006
Dublin, Ireland
I'm very new to this.

I was foolish enough to accept that a plain 20L tank was enough for 3 1" orandas and 3 white clouds.

Several posts will cover bits of this if you want to catch up - but you don't need to ...

First Help Post

"Don't worry, you'll be fine"

Anyway I'm up to the point where I've bought a few critical things to get the 20L to start cycling and hopefully keep my little charges alive while I sort out a larger tank .......

So I added my filter - it's the smallest I could get - suitable for up to 30 L - It's a Hydor. Never heard of 'em, not that I've heard of any filter maker! It's a basic filter - suction pad attached to the side of the tank - fully immersed - pulls water in through its side and through a spongy material and then up through the motor and out a vent pointing away from the side it's stuck to.

I set the control to mid-way and stuck it to the side of the tank and plugged it in.

Woah - there was a serious current in my tank - that's not right.

So I took it out again - set the setting to min and put it back in on the side of the tank - still a pretty serious current.

So I did a rethink and stuck it to the back of the tank near one end with the flow going forward and I moved the Eloida so the flow streamed into it in an attempt to break up the flow a bit.

But there is still a fair bit of water movement - the fish are fairly active and I'm not entirely sure they're happy about things. But they tend to get that way when I move things around so it's not clear how much is due to the change and how much is the current.

There are places in the tank which appear to have fairly quiet water, but the orandas seem to be swimming into the current a bit and occasionally one or another seems to be being pushed along a bit.