Mollie gave birth .....

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
Apr 11, 2006
Eatonton,GA
My mollie gave birth today while I was gone ( of course ) -- I have her in the breeding tank, 2 baby fry are still alive and I noticed 2 other fry in there as well but they didnt make it :(

My question is how many fry do they normally have and how long does it usually take for them to give birth to all the fry?

I am a newbie as this is the first fish I have had to give birth. I am guessing if she had more she ate them before they were able to fall through the lil v in the box. **so sad **

pugman

AC Members
Sep 3, 2006
Number of babies depends on the size of the fish and other factors. Mollies aren't usually avid baby eaters. As an aside, I'm not a fan of breeding traps, especially for active fish like mollies--it can cause undue stress. Is it a community tank? Otherwise, if it's just mollies they will reproduce on their own and if they're well fed and the babies have places to hide, you're bound to get some survivors. In my early fish-keeping days, I inadvertently killed several female liveberarers by putting them in breeding traps.

Apr 11, 2006
Eatonton,GA
I have other fish in my tank as well ...

1 Mickey Mouse Platy
2 Black/White Mollies ( 1 Male 1 Female )
1 Pleco
1 Black Skirt Tetra

The female Mollie did really well - I put her in there last night and she had them today... I have since took her out so she is back in the main tank and she is fine .. the 2 fry are doing great and are just to cute ....I do have them in a tank by themself because I don't want them to be breakfast,lunch or dinner for any of my other fish.

The Mickey Mouse Platy that I have ( and only had it for 2 weeks ) is pregnant as well.

BTW thanks for replying to my post :) any advice comments or anything is very much appreciated.

Apr 11, 2006
Eatonton,GA