Chloramine help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

CoreyMac

AC Members
Sep 15, 2006
Greer, SC
My water company uses chloramine to treat the water. Adding a simple water conditioner (Topfin water conditioner) apparently only breaks the chloramine apart and neutralized the chlorine part of chloramine, leaving ammonia behind. I test pure tap water with an API master kit and get an ammonia level of 1.0 PPM. After adding water conditioner I still get a reading of 1.0 PPM. ~~ I have tried using topfin's ammonia reducer which claims to neutralize chlorine, chloramine, and ammonia. Using this I get a reading of approximately 0.5 PPM. It's kinda hard to tell because the colors for 0.25 and 0.5 are so close. I am new to this stuff, but I am not fond of using many chemicals in my tank. Does anyone out there have to deal with this problem? If so, what are you doing to kill the ammonia? Any suggestions from anyone else on what I can try to get the ammonia level down?

plah831

Am I mod enough?
Apr 29, 2006
Monterey Bay, CA
If your tap water conditioner doesn't say it also neutralizes ammonia, then yes, it is breaking up chloramine to form chlorine and ammonia. If it says it treats ammonia, it adds a hydrogen ion to toxin ammonia (NH3) to form the less toxic NH4+, ammonium. Ammonium is much less toxic than NH3. Both exist in equilibrium, with their relative quantities varying by pH and temperature.

Most ammonia tests cannot distinguish ammonia from ammonium, and give you a total ammonia reading. I'm almost certain the API tests fall in this category. The type of test that only read total ammonia are Nessler-type tests. Salicylate-based tests ONLY read toxic ammonia (NH3). Seachem makes that kind of ammonia test.