New tank setup, advice on what to do with it?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Wrench

AC Members
Sep 9, 2004
Hello all. Haven't been around here in a while. Feels good to be back. I need some help figuring out what I want to do with my newest tank. I found it in a local ad for sale real cheap so I decided to get it. I went to look at it and come to find out it's a 40g saltwater setup with a stand, hood, power compact lighting, 10g filter, skimmer and all the test kits/chemicals etc.. I was originally going to do a cichlid or discus tank but I think I'm finally going to try my hand at saltwater. I've been keeping planted FW setups for a few years now and understand the basic chemistry. My question is whether to go with a FO or a FOWLR setup. I want to work up to a reef setup but right now money and time constraints are holding me back. Do you think even a FOWLR setup may be over my head? Also, could you point me in the direction of some sites with good info on setup and cycling?

thx

Max

It's me
Jan 26, 2004
Mars
Visit site
Hello! and welcome back.
You have found such a site marine tanks by our own dorkfish http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=79292
marine cycle by yours truely http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=84571

I would really recommend going with fowlr they are so much easier to maintain. The live rock will do most of the work for you. I don't know if you want to spend all that much money on the live rock but, you can get some base rock and some live rock and let your tank cycle the base rock will turn to live rock soon enough. You also don't need to purchase things like live sand just use plain old sand ,"arogonite sand if you can find it check your local cement factory, home centre etc.
If you need any more advice feel free to ask!
cheers
Max

Wrench

AC Members
Sep 9, 2004