How to go from non-planted tank to planted?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ghart999

AC Members
Nov 28, 2006
Hi all. Total newbie to aquariums. But I am starting a 55G tank in a few weeks and want to start plantless at first. I want to make sure I enjoy the hobbie enough before going planted. Not to mention all the extra stuff I would have to learn right away. I am wondering what can I do to prepare for planted right now that would make it easier to transition later on? Can I use a certain grazel/sand, etc to start with that would not require me to tear the tank down later if I go planted? Or would I have to put down special layers of substrate later on no matter what?

What about filter? I was pretty set on some HOBs, but have read that they upset the water surface too much for plants. Something to do with CO2 issues? If this is the case, should I go canister right off the bat?

Anything else you can think of that I should avoid or make sure I do now?

I will have a community tank so no critters that will eat the plants, etc. Simple fish is my plan.

Thanks all.

Gregg

Hutchewon

AC Members
Oct 27, 2006
ghart999 said:
Hi all. Total newbie to aquariums. But I am starting a 55G tank in a few weeks and want to start plantless at first. I want to make sure I enjoy the hobbie enough before going planted. Not to mention all the extra stuff I would have to learn right away. I am wondering what can I do to prepare for planted right now that would make it easier to transition later on? Can I use a certain grazel/sand, etc to start with that would not require me to tear the tank down later if I go planted? Or would I have to put down special layers of substrate later on no matter what?