Hi all, questions about new 75 gallon

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Gaffa

AC Members
Dec 26, 2006
I have been operating a 20 gallon with goldfish for 3 years now. I jsut got a new 75 for christmas. How should I make he transition smooth from the 20 to 75...

If I put all Gravel, filter media, decor and live plants into the new tank, do I need to worry about a tough cycle? I was thinking if I put all the old stuff in it should be a quick and easy cycle...of course the tank sizes are so different...any opinions??

The whole fishless cycle seems like a really huge undertaking considering I've got all this bacteria soaked gravel and media on the other hand I don't want to hurt my fish. the goldie I've had longest (3 years)seems permanantly stunted from cycling the original tank...something I did prior to having any knowledge of fishless cycling

rosita

Here
Jan 11, 2006
Cape Fear River Basin
If you use the gravel, media, and any plants/decorations with lots of texture (holds more good bacteria) you should cycle within hours to a day or so.
Just keep testing the water.

Touchy subject: your goldies are more likely stunted from being in a 20g for 3 years, as they generally need many more gallons per fish. Using them for a "fishy cycle" damages their gills, from having to live in ammonia-ridden water for a period of time. I've got 2 goldies (comets--avg.15g per) I rescued in June; the biology teacher had them for 2 or so years in her classroom in a 10g and she just let the water evaporate, then put more in. When I took them, they were in about 3 inches of sludge. After being in a large tub for 7 months, their size has not increased, but they are alot happier.
Good luck with your cycle--do you have a good master test kit to check ammonia/nitrite/nitrate levels as they change? Don't use strips--unreliable.

Gaffa

AC Members
Dec 26, 2006