Sick fantail goldfish, red sore around tail.

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

hamster123

AC Members
Aug 18, 2006
Hello,

I am a newbie aquarium owner when it comes to fish problems. I will try to provide as much information as possible for my problem, I hope someone can help me.

I have 2 fantail goldfish, and 1 small plecosthomus in a 10 gallon tank. Filtration is good, and as far as I know the quality of the water is good (weekly changes of about 1-2 gals of water, I age the water for a day instead of using any sort of conditioning agent). One of my fantail fish had lost its color about 6 months ago when it was in a very small tank. After I had put my two fantails in a larger tank, they seemed to be doing well.

Currently, one goldfish is doing well, looks very healthy, active, color is vivid. The other fish that originally lost its color always has its dorsal fin down, and at the point where his tail is connected to his body, it looks like a sore has opened up. It is small and red, not streaky or anything, and doesn't seem to fit any of the problems on this page:

http://2cah.com/pandora/Disease.html

The sick fish is less active, and seems to be losing movement with his tail. I have not seen the plycosthomos attempt to suck on the fish, and he pretty much sticks to the vegetables I put in the tank for him. Again the other goldfish appears to be very healthy, so I'm not sure what is wrong.

I tried searching the forums, but for some reason the search page comes up just blank.

Thanks for any advice.

boulderman1

AC Members
Aug 8, 2006
Chicago, IL