New tank, Stocking suggestions

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Magnacarta

Registered Member
Apr 22, 2003
Visit site
I`m a total newbie who has just taken possesion of a 40 imperial gallon aquarium, It is currently cycling with 6 zebra danios.

I`m open to suggestions as to what to stock the tank with, I`m looking for a variety of top, middle, and bottom dwellers, I do like schooling fish and I`m not keen on large fish so a restriction of adult size of around 3 inches.

Any suggestions gratefully received :D

Firsttanks

Multiple Species Fish Custodian
Feb 27, 2003
Beiseker Ab. Canada
Visit site
Welcome to the hobby (Obsession?).:D

My recomendations:

Top Dwellers: Gold Wonder Killifish

Mid Level: Your Zebra Danios + maybe a school of Headlight Tetras (I think thats what they are called)

Bottom Level: Corycats (at least 4 will keep them happiest)

...or you could look at guppies/Mollies/Swordtails/Platties...they are all over the tank, come in multiple colors, and breed faster than rabbits.

Pam Lowrey

AC Members
Mar 26, 2003
Springfield, IL
Visit site
Originally posted by Firsttanks
... Headlight Tetras (I think thats what they are called)
There are a few "light" tetras, the Glowlight Tetra (Hemigrammus erythrozonus), the Head & Tail Light Tetra (Hemigrammus Ocellifer) & the Tail Light Tetra (Bryconops melanurus), but I couldn't find a Headlight tetra. Am I forgetting any others?

:)

cpr4cpu

AC Members
Mar 25, 2003
www.cpr4cpu.net
tetras like softer water, 7.2 and lower if I am not mistaken.
For harder water fish, look at any of the livebearers like plattys, guppys and swordtails. Even Angels to a degree. Cory's are great additions and seem to tolerate the hard water pretty well so far in my largest tank.