RCS vs. Amano

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Pudge

AC Members
Feb 17, 2009
Ontario, Canada
I'm fairly new to shrimp in general, but I have the opportunity to get 40 RCS locally for $20, including about 10 mature adults.

I'm looking to put the majority of them into my 5.5g tank, and possibly a few of the larger ones in my 29g community tank, and in my Platy/Individual Platy fry tank.

If anyone has some concerns about the above, please let me know.

I have been reading some posts, and one of the reasons I was looking into shrimp to begin with was algae control, I've been seeing that people point to Amano shrimp as being one of the best for this, but how would the RCS compare.

Would they still be fine for this purpose?

I hear the RCS are also fairly easy to maintain as opposed to other shrimp and are better suited for varied conditions.

I would like to still get the RCS, but also I was hoping that they would be able to assist with my hair algae.

Thanks in advance everyone! :)

BoCoMo

In need of grace
Mar 2, 2009
Missouri
I'm fairly new to shrimp in general, but I have the opportunity to get 40 RCS locally for $20, including about 10 mature adults.

I'm looking to put the majority of them into my 5.5g tank, and possibly a few of the larger ones in my 29g community tank, and in my Platy/Individual Platy fry tank.

If anyone has some concerns about the above, please let me know.

I have been reading some posts, and one of the reasons I was looking into shrimp to begin with was algae control, I've been seeing that people point to Amano shrimp as being one of the best for this, but how would the RCS compare.

Would they still be fine for this purpose?

I hear the RCS are also fairly easy to maintain as opposed to other shrimp and are better suited for varied conditions.