cycling

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!
  1. S

Help: First time using pre-cycled filter media?

Hello! After losing my betta Nero recently due to my own cycling errors while transferring him into a new tank, I decided to buy an "active" sponge filter from Angel's Plus (I have never used a sponge filter before either). I currently have it running in my 5 gallon tank, with water that I...
  2. B

Algae explosion from filter

Hi all, I'm a first-time poster here. I had a small 20 gallon tank with a handful of fish several years ago, but am just now getting into the hobby with both feet. This weekend, I purchased a used 75 gallon system locally. Everything is in excellent condition, except the previous owner had...
  3. F

Cycling with Fish

I’m starting a fish in cycle and I want to make sure that I do it properly- I have 3 longfinned zebra danios and 1 ghost shrimp but I’m planning to get 2-3 more danios and 2 more shrimp after the cycle. Is this the correct way to do it? 1. Wait until there’s sign of ammonia and start changing...
  4. F

Fish in Cycling

hey! I’m new to the forum and I just got into fish and tanks, and I will be getting a 10 gallon tank and I’m planning on getting a platy, 5 zebra danios, and 3 ghost shrimp. Is this too much for fish in cycling?
  5. FishyWarrior

Question about using old media to cycle a tank.

I was wondering, if i chose to use old filter media or gravel from a friend's established tank, how much would be enough? Like, is just a handful of gravel good enough, or would it have to completely cover the tank bottom? And how long would i typically have to wait before adding the fish in after?
  6. S

Help!!! Emergency Ammonia Problem!!!