125g build

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

mjordan29

AC Members
Dec 20, 2009
Hey all, after about four years away from the hobby I am back. When I was in high school I sold on here and on aquabid and ran 25+ tanks in my parents basement. Now I am married and missing my fishy friends (told the wife no dogs yet).

I self taught myself breeding which consists of lots of bare bottom single species tanks, java moss, and sponge filters. Yes it more complicated than that but you get the point.

I just bought a 125g tank and stand and will be reinforcing the floor in a month or so. What I want to try with this tank seems rather ambitious. Please let me know what you think as I have never done anything like this before.

Big box fish stores operate on having one central system. They pump "clean" water in and then tank water drains out through a grid back towards the filter. What if I drilled the tank (never done it before but I am sure I can do it) and sealed with silicone some pvc to the hole (sponge in hole to make sure I dont lose any fish). I allowed "excess" water to drain as waste water. So my RO system (already own from back in the day) would drip a couple drops a minute (unknown ideal flow at this time) and displacement says that an equal amount of tank water will drain out of the pvc. I will still syphon the gravel and such, I am just looking for a tank that will get two water changes a week but for me to only have to do one manually.

Highly planted tank
medium light
CO2
Some driftwood with java moss
6 Discus
6 Apisto of some sort or GBR
25 Cardinal tetras or neon tetras
20 Oto catfish (yes I will supplement their diet)

I really don't love canister filters so I will probably run either 2 large sponge filters and a HOB. Or 2 HOBS and a large sponge filter. Plus I will have continuous water turn over from the RO system feeding the tank.