1. Please double check and update your email address --> http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/index.php?account/contact-details
    Dismiss Notice

Aqua-Tech filters

Discussion in 'Freshwater Equipment, Products, & DIY' started by stevent, Apr 13, 2012.

  1. stevent

    stevent
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last Seen:
    Jul 18, 2014
    Anyone use Aqua-Tech filters from Walmart? What media do you use? I was thinking about replacing the cartridge with sponges and Biomax for the bio-media.
     
  2. Khemul

    Khemul
    Expand Collapse
    Sea Bunny

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Florida
    Last Seen:
    Nov 23, 2014
    I haven't used their filters, only their powerheads. But they are basically rebranded Penguin products from Marineland. They lack bio-wheels, but otherwise whatever works on a Penguin filter should work on an Aqua-Tech.

    I don't see any reason it shouldn't work.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. smitty

    smitty
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Jeffrey Smith
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Mechanic
    Location:
    Yeadon, Pennsylvania USA
    Last Seen:
    30 minutes ago
    Real Name:
    Jeffrey Smith
    Camera Used:
    Olympus FE-370; Sony HDR-CX580
    I would not worry about not having the bio wheel. The bio will grow on whatever media you use.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. platytudes

    platytudes
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Nicole
    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    3,450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Panama City, FL
    Last Seen:
    Sep 4, 2015
    Real Name:
    Nicole
    I used to use those filters, always used the AC 70 media (sponge and Biomax, sponge placed vertically on the bottom and Biomax on the top) and never had any trouble! They are good HOBs, and cheap too.
     
  5. Big Mike

    Big Mike
    Expand Collapse
    Large Member

    Real Name:
    Huge Mike
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Factory worker
    Location:
    IL
    Last Seen:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Real Name:
    Huge Mike
    I use them on all my tanks and have not had any problems.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. Navyscuba

    Navyscuba
    Expand Collapse
    The Fish Envy

    Real Name:
    Angel Rivera
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Ret. Military
    Location:
    Bartlett,TN
    Last Seen:
    Feb 23, 2015
    Real Name:
    Angel Rivera
    I got a bunch of tanks from a friend and most of them had them and to my believe they work better than some filters that claim to be the best. I had more problems with AC's than the Aquatech's.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page