BN cause of death?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

fishay12

future fish addict
Dec 3, 2013
Hey guys, my bn just died. He wasn't eating from what I saw for the past few days and he looked slightly bloated when I took him out. Is this from possibly eating the extra brine shrimp and bloodworms that fall to the gravel? Was it too much protein? His fins had a little white fuzz that I only saw when I just inspected him. His eyes also looked slightly sunken. What do I do? I really liked him even though I only had him for 2-3 weeks and i'm starting to cry.:cry: :cry::cry::cry:I am a newbie and my 6 tetras and my angelfish (soon to be returned to the fish store due to impulse purchase) are all fine and had bloodworms for lunch today. Please help, I really want to get another bn /pleco at some point because I fell in love with him in the short time I had him. Params are ph:7.6, ammonia:0ppm , nitrite:0ppm , nitrate:10ppm , temp: 77 Also, he was active just a few hours ago.

Manafel

AC Members
Oct 10, 2011
Tulsa, OK
Real Name
Kayla
Too much protein can give a bn pleco problems with digestion. Did you feed him anything else(veggie wafers and fresh vegetables)? Did you have any wood in the tank for him to rasp on?
Depending on how long he was dead in the tank the sunken eyes and fuzz on the fins could have been decay. Your water parameters are good. It could have been one of the new tank additions that brought a disease in... I would keep an eye on the current residents for internal parasites and weird behaviour..

Sent from my HTCONE using MonsterAquariaNetwork App

fishay12

future fish addict
Dec 3, 2013
Ok I will watch what I have before I finish stocking. I did feed him algae wafers and zuchinni and kale and he ate them but then he stopped eating all of these two or three days ago. There is wood in the tank. He was only dead for a few hours.

Star_Rider

AC Moderators
Dec 21, 2005