Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. Please clear out your caches and cookies and restart your browser.
    Dismiss Notice

Bulbs keep burning out

Discussion in 'Freshwater Equipment, Products, & DIY' started by Paccula, Apr 10, 2012.

  1. Paccula

    Paccula AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Animator, Illustrator, LFS
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Last Seen:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Hi all,

    so I'm maintaining one of those hang-on-the-wall AquaVista 500R aquariums, and recently the bulb burnt out. No big deal, I replace it with another. When I returned in two weeks, it was out again. Hmm... dud bulb? I replace with my second spare. Same result.
    If the ballast is dead would this be the result? The bulbs did work when I first put them in, but I'm not sure how long they stayed lit before they too died.
    Thanks all!
     
  2. carolinyens

    carolinyens AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    electrician
    Location:
    Butner NC
    Last Seen:
    Jun 12, 2016
    Its prolly the ballast. Is it just one bulb? Ive seen setups that had 2 ballasts for multiple lamps and you can really tell then. Hooking up a new ballast isnt hard and might be able to find one at a home improvement store or if you have a local electrical supply even better. If you do change it out I would suggest taking pictures of which wires are going where so you dont get confused if you take the old one out if your not familiar with electrical work. Not sure what the cost will be. Id say around the 20 to 30 buck range but thats a guestimate
     
  3. dbosman

    dbosman AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Last Seen:
    Jan 27, 2013
    What bulb is supposed to go in the setup?
    It could be a ballast, bulb/tube/lamp, or dirty power issue.
     
  4. Paccula

    Paccula AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Animator, Illustrator, LFS
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Last Seen:
    Apr 12, 2012
    It takes a single T4 12 watt 6400k bulb.
    The manufacturer's website offers a "lamp with ballast" for sale, and separately, "light bulb (2)".
    http://www.aquavistainc.com/buy_partsaccessories.html#
    By lamp I wonder if they are meaning a spare bulb, or if that is another replacement part.
    I've never replaced a ballast inside a unit like this before, and there aren't any instructions in the manual. This aught to be fun... :p
     
  5. dbosman

    dbosman AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Last Seen:
    Jan 27, 2013
    It sounds like you need their ballast for their light.
    Good luck.
     
  6. Paccula

    Paccula AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Animator, Illustrator, LFS
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, Canada
    Last Seen:
    Apr 12, 2012
    Thanks a bunch, I'm ordering a replacement now
     

Share This Page

zoomed.com
hikariusa.com
aqaimports.com
Store