1. Please double check and update your email address --> http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/index.php?account/contact-details
    Dismiss Notice

channel cats

Discussion in 'Indoor/Outdoor Ponds' started by jpierce3, Aug 8, 2011.

  1. jpierce3

    jpierce3 AC Members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    What would be the recommended minimum depth for a channel cat to winter over in SW Ohio?

    I have two ponds. One is 6' L x 4' W x 3' D with nothing but bull frogs in it right now. I need to get the filter running again, but this was my idea. Get small channels to grow out from now till mid spring. Some will go into a 1 acre pond, others go to other ponds for stocking, and keep a couple in the small pond probably becoming dinner at the end of next summer. Then just start all over again.

    Anyway, need to know if they will winter over in the 3' deep pond?
     
  2. Big Mike

    Big Mike Large Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL
    Real Name:
    Huge Mike
    Im no expert but I think that small of a pond would freeze solid in winter.
     
  3. OrionGirl

    OrionGirl No freelancing!

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    12,982
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Poconos
    Real Name:
    Sheila
    If you run aeration, it should be ok--but without a bubbler, yes, it will freeze completely over and likely kill the fish.
     
  4. jpierce3

    jpierce3 AC Members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    yes it will freeze over considering the big pond we have been ice staking on. Running a bubbler or floating heater won't be a problem. Frost ine is 18" & should be a couple inches of silt & debris to hibernate in. Thanks.
     
  5. SubRosa

    SubRosa AC Members

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5,639
    Likes Received:
    1
    Freeze over isn't a problem. Freezing solid top to bottom is. Check with a plumber in your area to see how deep the frostline is and go at least 1' deeper.
     
  6. jpierce3

    jpierce3 AC Members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah frost line is 18". Sounds like it will work. My issue now is that I don't know if I can get a lot of less than 100 3-5".......at least not locally. Bugger, I wanted to half that....

    I'll keep working on it. thanks guys
     

Share This Page