1. Please clear out your caches and cookies and restart your browser.
    Dismiss Notice

Cleaning a Betta Tank

Discussion in 'General Freshwater' started by WaterBaby, Jan 13, 2004.

  1. WaterBaby

    WaterBaby
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member with Senior Moments

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Occupation(s) A Mom, and OMG I'm working again. 4
    Location:
    Florence, New Jersey
    Last Seen:
    Dec 8, 2015
    I have moved my Crowntail Betta "Bluestar" into another tank. He started to develop some fin rot. I medicated him in his original 6 gallon tank and then moved him into a newly cycled 10 gallon.

    This gives me a chance to really clean his tank to reuse it. However, I do not want to destroy the bacteria in the tank.

    Will thoroughly vacuuming the gravel (meaning deep substrate vacuuming) suck up all the nitrifying bacteria?

    It is a cycled tank and don't want to re-cycle it....

    Thanks
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  2. OrionGirl

    OrionGirl
    Expand Collapse
    No freelancing!

    Real Name:
    Sheila
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    13,027
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Occupation:
    Information Tech
    Location:
    Poconos
    Last Seen:
    Today at 12:02 PM
    Real Name:
    Sheila
    No, vaccuming won't remove the bacteria--but you'll want to determine why the fin rot occurred. For a small tank like that, I'd probably feel better breaking it down and re-cycling it than risk introducing a new fish and having it get fin rot as well.
     
  3. TKOS

    TKOS
    Expand Collapse
    Registered User of Fish

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,888
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Conservator
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Last Seen:
    Sep 15, 2015
    I would take the filter from teh 6 gallon tank if possible and clean it well and get new media. Then run it on the 10 gallon tank to get a good load of bacteria back in it. When you are ready to use the 6 gallon again it will be ready. Or the the very least take some extra filter material like floss or sponge and run it in the 10 gallon's filter. Then add it to the 6 gallon once you are ready to have a new fish. That will make the cycle almost complete.

    Clean everything out of the 6 gallon with a mild bleach solution. That will make sure to kill any bacteria or fungus living in it.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. WaterBaby

    WaterBaby
    Expand Collapse
    Senior Member with Senior Moments

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2002
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Occupation:
    Occupation(s) A Mom, and OMG I'm working again. 4
    Location:
    Florence, New Jersey
    Last Seen:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Thanks!

    TKOS-The only problem with taking the filter apart is that it's an eclipse system and it has a bio-wheel.

    I do have another established tank (20gal) that I always keep an extra bag of carbon in (for bacteria storage). I guess I can use it to help cycle the 6 gallon again.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page