Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. We are BACK!!!!
    Dismiss Notice

GPH for Rift Lake 65G

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by Glenstorm, Jan 22, 2003.

  1. Glenstorm

    Glenstorm AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orono, ME
    Last Seen:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Hey all,

    What do people recomend for GPH(Gallons per Hour) for a 65G Rift Lake tank? Starting one up and trying figure how much filtering I'll need.

    I seem to recall seeing a recommendation for approx 230 GPH for a 75G before. Right now I have a Eheim Liberty 200 and figure I'll double it up with another Liberty 100. Or should I use something else like a PowerHead with a sponge filter on the intake?
     
  2. GobyGuy5

    GobyGuy5 AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last Seen:
    Nov 18, 2007
    I'm not sure what an ideal GPH for your tank would be, but I do know that you can never have enough filtration, and 230 GPH for a 75G seems really skimpy. I would guess you would want around 500 gallons per hour of powerfilters, and up. There really isn't a set standard, since you can almost never have too much filtration. However, I really don't think a liberty 200 and 100 could keep the tank clean, depending on the bioload you plan on having. If I were you, I'd throw another 400 GPH, or so, of powerfilters into the mix. 300 GPH just wouldn't cut it.
     
  3. gregga

    gregga I'm Mighty Megala..(wife: whatever)

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2000
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Long Island
    Last Seen:
    Nov 22, 2015
    Hi.....

    I agree with Goby that you need more filtration, however exactly how much really depends on how high your fish load will be...Obviously, the more fish, the more filtration needed.....
     
  4. NickH

    NickH AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1998
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Morris Township, NJ
    Last Seen:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Most people recommend turning over at least 5 times the tank's capacity per hour. For cichlid tanks, especially African cichlid tanks whichi tend to be overstocked, 8-10 times is a better goal to reach.

    IMO, another Liberty filter is not gonna cut it for your tank. You would be much better off adding a low-end canister, like the Eheim Ecco. Or, it will be cheaper to go with a bigger HOB, like a Marineland Emporer 400.
     
  5. Glenstorm

    Glenstorm AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orono, ME
    Last Seen:
    Apr 3, 2009
    UG!!

    Thanks for the insight. . . I'll price things out and see what I can do. Maybe 65G is too big for me right now. . . (I Haven't bought the tank yet)

    Dan
     
  6. NickH

    NickH AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1998
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Morris Township, NJ
    Last Seen:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Nobody said this hobby was cheap!

    If you are dead set on getting a fish tank, don't scimp on your first setup like so many of us did. Get the biggest tank you can afford and fit in your living area! You will regret it later on if you stick with the hobby. The cost difference between a 65g tank and a 45g tank is so minimal, that you will regret it later on when you realize your tank is "too small."

    Believe me, no tank is big enough!
     
  7. AikidoGuy

    AikidoGuy Cichlidiot

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sparta, New Jersey
    Last Seen:
    Dec 24, 2015
    2 emp 400s or 2 ac 300s should do the trick for ya! got for the 65 youll be glad you did. after a few months youll want a bigger tank too!! heck i have a 450gal and i still want a bigger one! we all have the sickness it just needs to be fed lol..
     
  8. Glenstorm

    Glenstorm AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Orono, ME
    Last Seen:
    Apr 3, 2009
    thanks folks

    This isn't my first tank. This new setup is supposed to cure the itch to go bigger for a while though.

    Currently I have a Whisper 3 on my 20G (I know that's overkill, but I bought the setup used and that's what I got) So I was thinking that I could put the liberty on the 20G and supplement the Whisper with something on the 65G.

    The thing is I don't know what Whisper3's are rated at for GPH. Tertra's web site doesn't say and all the box says is that the filter is rated for 30-60G tanks. That seems like it is a big range. Does anyone out there know how many gallons the Whisper3 turns over per hour?

    Thanks for the encouragement everyone. . .
    This place is like the anti-wife. . . no more money on fishies... Go Bigger!!! I don't know if you all are good for me ;)

    Dan
     
    #8 Glenstorm, Jan 23, 2003
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2003

Share This Page

zoomed.com
hikariusa.com
aqaimports.com
Store