1. Please double check and update your email address --> http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/index.php?account/contact-details
    Dismiss Notice

Kordon Breather Bags

Discussion in 'General Freshwater' started by thebrandon, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. thebrandon

    thebrandon I like fish

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    I recently purchased 6 rams from a seller on Aquabid.com. In one of his emails he told me about how he ships his fish, and one of the statements I got was NOT to float the Kordon bags because the will die if this kind of bag is floated. I was completely unaware of this. Is this true? I usually never float bags. I am most of the time a drip acclimation kind of person. I know msjnkz (I can never remember how to spell her name on here) has had good success just plopping new fish into her tanks. I was thinking about trying the same thing with my new shipment of rams anyway.

    But my main question is, is it true you can't float Kordon Breather Bags?
     
  2. sorberj

    sorberj wannabe fish whisperer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    McCleary, WA
    Real Name:
    Jerad
    I think this is a result of the manufactuer's instructions regarding double-bagging with water in between the bags. According to the manufactuer's website, placing the bag in water decreases the oxygen exchange by up to 50%. I drip acclimate everything anymore anyways so it doesn't really matter for my acclimation procedure.
     
  3. ceiji

    ceiji AC Members

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    kordon breather bags exchange oxygen and carbon dioxide between the water in it and the air around it. That is why people ship with little or no air inside the kordon bags. when you put the bag in water, it will not be able to exchange gases and hence decreases the amount of oxygen in water in the bag.. this is the reason to not put kordon breather bags in water.
     
  4. dbosman

    dbosman AC Members

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Don't plop.
    Some folks bungee jump. Some folks always speed. Some folks do dangerous things.
    Is that a good reason for everyone to do it?

    Drip acclimatization is the best way to get your new fish used to their new water. If the fish look like they need air, add an air stone to the drip bucket. The process should take two hours or more. My personal preference for a drip container is a 2.5 - 5 gallon gallon aquarium so I can see the fish as they acclimatize.
     
  5. Lab_Rat

    Lab_Rat Merry Christmas!

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Deep South
    If they're shipped fish I plop and drop. The fish have been in that small amount of water for a while with the toxic wastes and I want them out of it as quickly as possible. I've not had any losses using this method.
     
  6. Mgamer20o0

    Mgamer20o0 BobsTropicalPlants.com
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,161
    Likes Received:
    5
    right on. the bag is going to go most under water and no longer able to exchange o2.
    not always true.... there some cases more so with shipping dripping can be more harmful.
    http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=238573
     
  7. James0816

    James0816 AC Members

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting little tid bit of info there about the breather bags. Wasn't aware of that. Good thing I don't float bags.
     

Share This Page