Welcome to AquariaCentral.com

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. You will be entering into a wonderful world of aquatic information, for all aquarists, no matter what their experience level.

Our members will do their best to help you in your aquarium endeavors. We have a vast assortment of Forums to dive into:

-General Freshwater
-Marine and Brackish area
-Terrarium and Vivariums
-Coldwater
-DIY, Classifieds, Members Tanks Photographs and more.

We even have a general area, that is just as much fun as the rest of the Community, for off topic discussions and a real-time chat room for instant advice!

Joining Aquaria Central has numerous benefits, but the best, is our 112,000+ members, helping one another in this fascinating hobby!

Register now, and be sure to check out our scheduled contests with exciting prizes!

Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! !

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Welcome to the Internet's friendliest aquatic forum!

- Team AC

  1. We are BACK!!!!
    Dismiss Notice

Kordon Breather Bags

Discussion in 'General Freshwater' started by thebrandon, Feb 1, 2011.

  1. thebrandon

    thebrandon I like fish

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,846
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Last Seen:
    Aug 6, 2013
    I recently purchased 6 rams from a seller on Aquabid.com. In one of his emails he told me about how he ships his fish, and one of the statements I got was NOT to float the Kordon bags because the will die if this kind of bag is floated. I was completely unaware of this. Is this true? I usually never float bags. I am most of the time a drip acclimation kind of person. I know msjnkz (I can never remember how to spell her name on here) has had good success just plopping new fish into her tanks. I was thinking about trying the same thing with my new shipment of rams anyway.

    But my main question is, is it true you can't float Kordon Breather Bags?
     
  2. sorberj

    sorberj wannabe fish whisperer

    Real Name:
    Jerad
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    McCleary, WA
    Last Seen:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Real Name:
    Jerad
    I think this is a result of the manufactuer's instructions regarding double-bagging with water in between the bags. According to the manufactuer's website, placing the bag in water decreases the oxygen exchange by up to 50%. I drip acclimate everything anymore anyways so it doesn't really matter for my acclimation procedure.
     
  3. ceiji

    ceiji AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Last Seen:
    Dec 21, 2014
    kordon breather bags exchange oxygen and carbon dioxide between the water in it and the air around it. That is why people ship with little or no air inside the kordon bags. when you put the bag in water, it will not be able to exchange gases and hence decreases the amount of oxygen in water in the bag.. this is the reason to not put kordon breather bags in water.
     
  4. dbosman

    dbosman AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,481
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    East Lansing, MI USA
    Last Seen:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Don't plop.
    Some folks bungee jump. Some folks always speed. Some folks do dangerous things.
    Is that a good reason for everyone to do it?

    Drip acclimatization is the best way to get your new fish used to their new water. If the fish look like they need air, add an air stone to the drip bucket. The process should take two hours or more. My personal preference for a drip container is a 2.5 - 5 gallon gallon aquarium so I can see the fish as they acclimatize.
     
  5. Lab_Rat

    Lab_Rat Merry Christmas!

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Deep South
    Last Seen:
    Jan 28, 2015
    If they're shipped fish I plop and drop. The fish have been in that small amount of water for a while with the toxic wastes and I want them out of it as quickly as possible. I've not had any losses using this method.
     
  6. Mgamer20o0

    Mgamer20o0 BobsTropicalPlants.com
    Staff Member

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,221
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Last Seen:
    Aug 22, 2016
    right on. the bag is going to go most under water and no longer able to exchange o2.
    not always true.... there some cases more so with shipping dripping can be more harmful.
    http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=238573
     
  7. James0816

    James0816 AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3,411
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Last Seen:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Interesting little tid bit of info there about the breather bags. Wasn't aware of that. Good thing I don't float bags.
     

Share This Page

zoomed.com
hikariusa.com
aqaimports.com
Store