1. Please double check and update your email address --> http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/index.php?account/contact-details
    Dismiss Notice

Merlin and Coralife sea storm 100 Fluidized Bed Filters w/ a few ? ? ? ?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Equipment, Products, & DIY' started by RodInCALIFORNIA, Aug 30, 2008.

  1. RodInCALIFORNIA

    RodInCALIFORNIA
    Expand Collapse
    EBAY ADDICT !

    Real Name:
    ROD
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Occupation:
    Pay's the bills....
    Location:
    CALIFORNIA
    Last Seen:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Real Name:
    ROD
    I had started using these along with my current filters on 4 tanks I am using 2 of the merlin fbf and 2 of the coralife sea storm 100's fbf. I have 1 on 4 different aquariums they are 55 gal tanks. I do like the merlins adjustable features but the sea storm is great also. Does anyone else use the fbf filters? I plain on buying 4 more for my other tanks. The ones I have now have been running for about 1 month now all are mounted to the back of the tank and all my tanks are freshwater. and all tanks are fancy goldfish I have never used this type of filter and I was wondering if anyone had any pro's or con's about them. I plan on keep my current filter set ups on each tank and just adding these as a supplement. AND do you know if there is a certain type of sand I can get at like home depot etc. in case I have to replace it or must I buy the manufactures 10.99 for a 2 1/2 lb replacement sand? Thanks
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  2. Mgamer20o0

    Mgamer20o0
    Expand Collapse
    BobsTropicalPlants.com
    Staff Member

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,190
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    89
    Last Seen:
    Thursday at 5:44 PM
    you can use your own sand. the great thing about them is the surface area for the bacteria. the bad thing with them is if the power goes off it dies off faster then any other type of filters. i would put a ubs in case the power goes out. i seen people claim as little as 10 mins with out power and it dies off.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  3. 1oooop

    1oooop
    Expand Collapse
    int x; if {x>1} {std::cout

    Real Name:
    Brandon
    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    student...
    Location:
    here, there, everywhere
    Last Seen:
    Oct 25, 2011
    Real Name:
    Brandon
    UPS... also, wow... no wonder my instincts told me to get gravel dies off really FAST
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  4. Riiz

    Riiz
    Expand Collapse
    Apocalypse Pony

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,036
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    So Cal
    Last Seen:
    May 24, 2015
    Even with a smallish UPS of around 350va, it will be able to keep a large powerhead of 10watts going for a few hours+.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature

Share This Page