1. Please double check and update your email address --> http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/index.php?account/contact-details
    Dismiss Notice

New Gravel and Brown Algae

Discussion in 'Planted Aquariums' started by tackful, Mar 7, 2012.

  1. tackful

    tackful
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sausalito, CA
    Last Seen:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Have any of you ever gotten brown algae after adding new gravel to the tank? I have no algae at all on the glass, but it's all over this new gravel.
     
  2. AfishIonado

    AfishIonado
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Cake Decorator
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Last Seen:
    May 6, 2012
    Cant say I have, did u wash it before you put it in the tank? Did you get it from your LFS?


    Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app
     
  3. tackful

    tackful
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sausalito, CA
    Last Seen:
    Dec 20, 2015
    No, didn't wash it; yes, got it from LFS.
     
  4. DGC

    DGC
    Expand Collapse
    All in One

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Stondon, UK
    Last Seen:
    Jan 13, 2016
    has not happened to me but i have always washed new gravel, use a python when cleaning/water change, it shouldnt last long
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. cradlefan

    cradlefan
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Kris
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    450
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Last Seen:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Real Name:
    Kris
    Algae always grows on bare surfaces easier. I would say just because it's new, there is a bit of algae, but it should go away. Is this a new tank, or did you just change all the substrate? If it's new, it's just cycling, if it's a cycled tank and you changed all the substrate out at once with new substrate, then it might be cycling again and this might just be an algae bloom. Did you check your parameters?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. tackful

    tackful
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sausalito, CA
    Last Seen:
    Dec 20, 2015
    It's an established tank, and all I did was to add a shallow layer of this gravel on top of the existing substrate for appearance' sake. Everything else is the same.
     
  7. unseenone00

    unseenone00
    Expand Collapse
    AC Members

    Real Name:
    Nick
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Part-Time LFS worker!
    Location:
    Maryland
    Last Seen:
    Jan 1, 2013
    Real Name:
    Nick
    get a couple of otos if you can, they will eat those brown diatoms right up (unless it is a cichlid tank)
     

Share This Page