1. Please double check and update your email address --> http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/index.php?account/contact-details
    Dismiss Notice

plant substrate

Discussion in 'Planted Aquariums' started by Icom, Feb 16, 2008.

  1. Icom

    Icom AC Members

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
  2. charlie4486

    charlie4486 Charlie Murphy!!!!!!!!!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    sounds like it gets great review. if you do get it let me know how it goes.
     
  3. jflng

    jflng unRegistered abUser

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    -
    I have read (though don't quote me on this) that their base ingredient it Soilmaster Select, and they just tweak the formula.
    You could go with Soilmaster or Turface Pro League. They work well and run about $15+/- for 50lbs.
     
  4. Mgamer20o0

    Mgamer20o0 BobsTropicalPlants.com
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    31,161
    Likes Received:
    5
    same thing i heard. if you want cheap plant gravel just go with soilmaster select.
     
  5. Icom

    Icom AC Members

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    the Soilmaster/Turface and the like are all inert(?),so those would be just like regular gravel or sand right ?
    where this stuff has minerals,nutrients,Iron and what ever else in it for plants like Eco-Complete(;minus the bacteria of eco.)
    I was gonna go with eco,but after figuring out how much I'd need for all the tanks:eek3:
     
  6. loaches r cool

    loaches r cool Snail Terminator

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gahanna, Ohio
    #7 loaches r cool, Feb 17, 2008
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2008
  7. Icom

    Icom AC Members

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa

    Thanks,that answers alot.

    maybe I'll just put pool filter sand or black sand in the tanks :confused:
     
  8. leocom2000

    leocom2000 AC Members

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha!!! Its identical!!!! Those substrates are identical!!!!!
     
  9. loaches r cool

    loaches r cool Snail Terminator

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gahanna, Ohio
    Except for the price... Soilmaster and Turface are much cheaper. But if you cant get them locally, then the AP substrate might be an option.
     

Share This Page