Rebooting my 100 Gallon Reef Tank

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Benson

Roll Tide!
Apr 8, 2003
Phoenix, AZ
Visit site
Real Name
Benson Walker
Rebooting my 100 Gallon Reef Tank :(

Well, the bubble algae has finally won. I have been battlingit for the last 9 months. I had some in my old 90 and had bought a Foxface tobattle it. Of course he had no interest in it what so ever. I tried EmeraldCrabs with no luck at all. Even went as far as using H2O2 on the rocks thenfinally in the tank to no avail. It was growing faster that I could fight it.The other day I looked in the overflow and was just amazed how much was in theoverflow, growing in the return pipe and drain. On top of that I had the worstcase of red slime that I have been battling for the last three months. It wastime to nuke the tank.

In January I bought some dry rock from Bulk Reef Supply. It’sbeen in my old 40 gallon breeder cycling. I added Dr. Tim’s and have beenfeeding the tank ammonia since January. Just in case I decided to nuke mydisplay tank. The rock has been cycled for weeks. Between the bubble algae andthe red slime and fighting them both, the corals have either died and arecovered in bubble algae. So, I pulled all the rocks out of the display tank andput them in Brute cans full of fresh water and bleach. I have moved the fish tothe 40 gallon breeder for the moment and moved the rock with the anemones to a20 gallon long. Not sure how to get them off the rock that is covered in bubblealgae.

I drained the display tank and filled it with water andbleach to kill all the remaining algae. They whole system ran with the bleachwater, sump, power heads, heater (not on) and return pump, overflow, reactors, etc. I did this several times and now havefresh water and vinegar running in the tank.