1. Please double check and update your email address --> http://www.aquariacentral.com/forums/index.php?account/contact-details

Wait - What??? Cleaning the pond.

Discussion in 'Indoor/Outdoor Ponds' started by rainbowcharmer, Jun 15, 2011.

  1. rainbowcharmer

    rainbowcharmer AC Members

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    So we are debating a pond vacuum - been debating for a while. The only ones that I've found that have good reviews and recommendations are the Pondovacs, so that's what we've been planning to get. Anyhow, in the meantime, I've got some thread algae issues and still have some dirt in the pond from when the yard wasn't grown in yet and the rain washed red clay into it. I figured we'd call the local pond place (Georgia Ponds) as I've seen their truck around and thought perhaps they'd vac it for me for a fee or whatever. So I send them an email, and they come back with...

    They don't vacuum ponds. But they do clean them. They'll remove all the fish, completely empty the pond and filter, scrub it down, and then refill it and put the fish back.

    I don't see this being a good plan. I could do that myself if I wanted to kill off all my beneficial bacteria and knock the pond into an ammonia spike. What kind of a pond company is this??

    Sheesh. :headshake2:

    They claim that no pond vacuums ever clean very well. I'll still have dirt and algae if I only vacuum and probably the pond vacuum wouldn't even help at all. And I'll have algae if I don't take everything out and scrub it down. Probably true. I don't want an unnatural pond. I want a slightly less algae infested pond without the mud on the bottom. The mud won't come back as the grass has grown in and I've got the edges lifted so even if run-off did happen, it'd go under the liner.

    As my plants continue to grow in, I'm sure the algae will get more under control. In the meantime I wanted to suck some of it up and make it look a bit nicer. But I'm not going with their plan. Beyond that they're going to charge upwards of $500 for that!! I could get a brand new Pondovac for less. Which is probably what I'll eventually do.

    Crazy... Just wanted to vent. :)
     
  2. vanillaXtiffy

    vanillaXtiffy AC Members

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Real Name:
    Nilla
    I just use a shop vac to clean the bottom of my pond. I scare the fish over to the other side and vac up the muck.
     
  3. rainbowcharmer

    rainbowcharmer AC Members

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Doesn't that fill up really really quickly? Then again, maybe it wouldn't be so bad if mine didn't only hold 6 gallons. LOL
     
  4. rainbowcharmer

    rainbowcharmer AC Members

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    Also - do you have like a super-extra long vac hose attached somehow?? Mine would not reach the bottom of the pond in about 80% of it...
     
  5. vanillaXtiffy

    vanillaXtiffy AC Members

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Real Name:
    Nilla
    I went out and measured it just for you. The hose is about 6 1/2 feet. Mine hold 5 gallons, but this is what I do when I do w/c on the pond: use a bucket to remove whatever amount of water I'm changing then I use the shop vac to clear up the bottom. Usually it takes me 3 empties to get the whole bottom cleared.
     
  6. rainbowcharmer

    rainbowcharmer AC Members

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    So your pond is small then... Mine is 1700 gallons and 4 feet deep. LMAO. It will probably not quite work the same way...
     
  7. vanillaXtiffy

    vanillaXtiffy AC Members

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Real Name:
    Nilla
    Yeah, I checked out your pond build thread. Yours is quite a bit bigger than mine, though at only 4 feet deep you should be able to do most of the bottom if you have a 6 ft hose. How wide is it across?
     
  8. vanillaXtiffy

    vanillaXtiffy AC Members

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia
    Real Name:
    Nilla
    Ps. I get excited about minnow fry too!
     
  9. hankn

    hankn AC Members

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Israel
    The Oase Pondovac doesn't fill up. It has a drainage hose that you place in your garden
    and all the water and gunk you suck up goes out the drainage hose. Pays to buy a piece
    of mosquito netting and place it on the grass in your garden and the hose on top of the
    netting. This way the water goes through and waters your grass and the gunk can easily
    be collected from the netting.
     
  10. garyfla

    garyfla AC Members

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi
    I use a 'purge" system using collected rainwater. Works like a charm except when it doesn't rainlol
    During a 31 inch rain it got so clear that I thought it was empty when looking from the house.
    saves a ton of work and always have beutiful fresh water gary
     

Share This Page