Where do YOU purchase your freshwater fish from?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Erin B

AC Members
Dec 10, 2014
Out of curiosity, I am just wondering where a lot of you experienced fish enthusiasts get your fish from?

I am a newbie at this hobby and am located in Canada (Calgary) and aside from the local PetSmart or Pisces I am wondering where you get your fish.

Does anyone order them online?

Thanks!

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
In Canada, I'm not sure, Big Al's I've heard of, I think they ship. Try to find a Can. fish board to see what others suggest. I bet getting fish from the US would be very expensive, that's where many of us here on AC live. Is there a site like aquabid (here). Is Pisces a chain or local? They may be able to order fish for you & there might be a local fish club or 2.

myswtsins

Global Moderator
Jun 15, 2008
Central NJ
Real Name
Jen
Camera Used
Canon PowerShot SX260 HS
I almost exclusively buy from online or local breeders, have for years now. But I do like one of my local petsmarts above even the big dedicated fish stores or petco, every place is different with those chain stores just gotta find the good ones. Local clubs are a great source too though. Being that you are in Canada I don't have any particular recommendations, sorry.

Reactions: Erin B

irishspy

There is a stargate in my aquarium.
I like to buy from my LFS and even a chain such as Petco. In either case, I make several visits before buying to see how healthy the stock is and how well-kept the tanks are. I've once ordered online, from LiveAquaria: the experience was flawless, but the shipping charges were murder. I'd do it again, if there was a species I really wanted that I couldn't find locally.

Tifftastic

"With your powers combined . . ."
Sep 9, 2008
Glasgow, Scotland
Real Name
Tiff