Why are my fish dying?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

BrittanySmith02

Registered Member
Apr 6, 2015
I am very new to keeping an aquarium. I had a 20 gallon stocked with 5 Black Skirt Tetras, 3 Dalmation Mollies, 2 Mickey Mouse Platys, 2 Sunburst Platy, and 1 Rubberlipped Pleco. Unfortunately, in the last few days I have lost one of the Mickey Mouse Platys, one Dalmation Molly, and my Pleco. Now all five of my Tetras (who were my first five to buy for this tank over 3 months ago) are looking incredibly ragged, with a milky white color on their tails, which appear to have been nipped away. They are refusing to eat. In fact, all of the fish appear to have white spots on them, so I began treating with an all in one treatment that I was suggested by a major chain pet store (can we use store names here?).
ALSO

I woke up this morning to find 9 living fry laying low very close to the substrate. I went out and got a breeding box and it's currently housing the remaining fry with a synthetic plant to provide some protection, but in the tank. I was told to grind up regular flake fish food as tiny as possible and feed them that. However, they're continuing to die as well.

What do I need to be looking for? When my Pleco died (this morning) it was very unexpected and he looked completely normal. His color was normal, his eyes were clear..
I'm really enjoying my fish, but I'm beginning to think I got myself in far deeper than I was ready for.

tanker

Josh Holloway--Be mine!!!
Sep 1, 2003
Calif. SF Bay area
Visit site
Real Name
Jessica
My guess, a non-cycled tank== Too much ammonia.

What is the temp of the tank?? Do you have any water-test Kits?? What are their readings?? How are you treating water (during WC).

Star_Rider

AC Moderators
Dec 21, 2005
Spanaway, Wa.
Real Name
Ed
I think you need to test your water. you've had some of the fish 3 months?
are any new additions?