Plants - Wasting Away / Dying / Eaten?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

that Fish Guy

AC Members
Mar 18, 2010
Milford, MI
I am new to Planted Tanks.

I have done Fish Only Freshwater for Years and have never had success with Live Plants and they always died.

I have tried time and time again.

So this time I bought a new Coralife Dual T5 Fixture with a Pink Light to help Plant Growth in my 29 Gallon Tank to Replace my Old Single Bulb T8 that came with the Original Set Up from Walmart.

I also have been Fertilizing with Seachem.

But I am still having trouble. Some Plants Live and others still Die / Waste Away / Get Eaten?

What is the Deal?

Still Around:

Amazon Sword
Java Fern (Why are they always half black and look like they are dying in the stores and the sites that sell them online are All Green and Healthy)? Mine is still alive but is half Green / Half Black. I really cannot find good ones and I have been to like 30 Pet Stores. Seriously they all look terrible.
Java Moss
Moss Ball

Completly Seem to Have Dissappeared:

Hornwort
Water Sprite
Jungle Vallisneria

And according to PlantGeek.com Hornwort and Water Sprite are said to be Hardy and Easy to Keep. Hornwort is even listed as Low Light.

I just bought 3 new Plants today (Forget Which Ones as It was an Impulse buy).

I am going to see if they Live or just Dissapear.

Can anyone please help?

What am I doing Wrong?

tyler79durdan

Director Of Plantasia?
Dec 12, 2009
Michigan
aaronspet.webs.com
Your plants are most likely "melting" because of a nutritional problem including lack of CO2. More light=More CO2/fertilizer. In a well stocked tank, one could get by with minimal fertilization.

Your original problem seems to be crap lighting/wrong spectrum...

T5 upgrade is good(prolly not enough though) if its the HO not the NO.
Some are called HO only because both bulbs are powered together. Usually 2 24watt bulbs...