WILL MY DWARF FROG EAT MY BABY BETTA

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Mothmorrianne

Registered Member
Apr 17, 2021
I am very new to aquatics and as stupid as it may seem to some of you I am still grieving over my first betta who died of stress. When he died my mom convinced me to try again and whilst looking for other bettas I came across the African dwarf frogs. When asking different employees from different stores who specialized in aquatics they all said that keeping an African dwarf frog and betta together in a 1 gallon tank (I plan on upgrading eventually I know bettas need more space) wasn't recommended but that I was welcome to try and that it wasn't a doomed idea. Just to supervise the introduction to make sure the betta didn't attack the frog. They also recommend I get a girl so they'd be less aggressive. So, now I have both the frog and the betta but still in separate containers. I got a baby betta girl and she is very small. And despite both multiple store employees telling me, and doing some research saying they should get along fine, and to worry more about the betta's agression, something kept telling me I should be worrying about my baby betta's safety more. On this website finally I got a different message. I read that people saw their dwarf frogs eating guppies and grabbing other small fish in their tank and biting the head off. I am very emotional just thinking about this possibly happening. I don't think I could handle another pet's death. Being eaten no less. I know this may sound stupid to some of you but this betta is my new baby, one I promised to take better care of then the last. One who I took in trying to honor my last betta. I still feel guilty for stressing my last fish out and killing him. I was very hesitant to get another one and if I got her eaten alive because I was selfish and wanted to hoard more animals I don't think I could take it my mental