10 Gallon Stocking

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

faywayway

Registered Member
Aug 24, 2020
This is my first ever tank as I'm new to this hobby, but I've done loads and loads of thorough research to prepare myself. The only info I haven't been able to find is how exactly I could stock my tank, as there are so many different variables that go into decisions like this. I have a 10 gallon long tank, very heavily planted, and my fishless cycling process has been complete as I first set the tank up 3 weeks ago, and I used live bacteria supplements and some old filter media. This is how I would like to fill it:
1x male betta fish,
2x amano shrimp,
2x ghost shrimp,
2x green jade shrimp,
3x tiger/zebra nerite snails,
4x thorn nerite snails,
3x male endler's livebearers, and
7-9x ember tetras (however much you reccomend).
As of right now, I do already have two amano shrimps, two thorn nerites, and a tiger and a zebra nerite snail comfortably living in this tank. I will also note that I plugged all this info into the website AqAdvisor.com and my stocking level is under 100%, so if that's a good stocking limit, great. Waste issues for this highly stocked tank would not be a problem for me as I have too many plants to list, a Top Fin power filter for up to 20 gallons, and I am prepared to do the necessary frequent water changes if the nitrate levels rise too high. However, if you think that amount of animals would simply create too little space for everyone to be happy, please let me know.

Sprinkle

AC Members
Mar 21, 2020
UK
I would just do 1 male betta, bettas bio load is enough for a 10 gallon. Betta might kill shrimp, especially the small ones.
Endler guppies are hard water fish whereas all tetras are soft water fish and AqAdvisor is often inaccurate.