125g new anubias plants

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Daveunkefer

AC Members
Mar 12, 2013
Murrells Inlet SC
Real Name
Dave Unkefer
Just attached 12 anubias nana gold plants to my driftwood in my 125 gallon.

What can I do to make these babies grow nice? I'm new to planted aquariums.

My light set up is;

2 48inch actinic 54 watt
2 48inch 10,000k 54 watt

Would it be necessary to switch out a bulb for a plant bulb? I know they are low light plants. But idk if it matters if there is 12 of them.

I really enjoy the actinic bulbs but they don't do anything for the plants do they? I was thinking about just switching out a 10,000 for a plant bulb. But would that really change anything?

One last thing. Any fish friendly ferts necessary?

Sent from my iPhone using MonsterAquariaNetwork app

ImageUploadedByMonsterAquariaNetwork1364501969.810657.jpg

Daveunkefer

AC Members
Mar 12, 2013
Murrells Inlet SC
Real Name
Dave Unkefer
Thanks! Just finally finished cycling a week ago. Took soooo long.

Spent the last 5 weeks getting this baby together. Fish are doing well.

Now its all about the plants.. =]

Khemul

Sea Bunny
Oct 14, 2010
South Florida
You should be fine with that lighting. Plants can use actinic bulbs, it just encourages a different growth pattern. Which you shouldn't really see much of the effect of anyways, since the 10,000k bulbs are perfectly fine.

discuspaul

AC Members
Jun 22, 2010
Surrey, B.C. Canada (Vancouver)
Real Name
Paul
I've been fish-keeping for many years and done a lot of experimenting, particularly with plants.
I love Anubias and have had them many times in various sized tanks, including my discus tanks.