Am I frying the fishies? HELP!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

ahobbyisborn

AC Members
Aug 26, 2005
undefinedundefinedundefined :sad: I am very new to this experience. I recently got a 30 gal from a neighbor who was moving. I got 3 plecos, cory, and a kissing fish in the deal. I broke tank down and cleaned thoroughly...ditched the underwater gravel filter. GOT new rocks and 2 10in airstones.

Anyway...my problem is this. After getting it all ready to go...(did'nt really know or understand cycling at this point) I bought three so african chiclids. One is a bumblebee and one is a I have forgotten..started out all yellow but is developing light vertical bar like stripes. The other a malawi. He was all black but is supposed to turn darker and darker blue as he grows. I also bought 2 clown loaches.

The tank stays at 70 degrees. I have been told to raise the temp by lfs so I purchased a submersible heater and also the suggested aquarium salt. Salt says best temp for treatment is 80. I installed this heater 36 hours ago and it reached 80 about 22 hours ago. I put in salt at recommended dose.

Fish seem more active in warmer water. BUT today my kissing fish and the malawi and bumblebee are staying right at the top. I have to turn my heater to 83 to reach 80. SO about an hour ago I turned it down to 80 just in case this is whats wrong. The rest of the fish are in hiding and the plecos are allon bottom.

Thank you for any help...sorry so longwinded!

OrionGirl

No freelancing!
Aug 14, 2001
Poconos
Real Name
Sheila
Any test kits?

Lots of issues here. First, by ditching the undergravel filter, you removed most if not all of the nitrifying bacteria, so the tank is probably cycling--high ammonia and nitrite levels, which can be very bad for fish. Is there any filter on the tank right now?