Aquascape help...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

mandyaj_25

AC Members
Oct 22, 2008
This is my tank and to me it looks kind of like an awkward mess. I am new with the planted tank. I will be changing the background to black and I am really needing some suggestions on what to do with my plants and wood though? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! I currently have jungle Val, large Anubis, java fern, not sure what is in the front??

IMG_0195.JPG

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
Not a bad start, a black background will help! What size is your tank? With sand you need some kind of root tab ferts, there's nothing helping those crypts (?) on the left. What's the floating plant on the top left? I can't tell.

mandyaj_25

AC Members
Oct 22, 2008
Not a bad start, a black background will help! What size is your tank? With sand you need some kind of root tab ferts, there's nothing helping those crypts (?) on the left. What's the floating plant on the top left? I can't tell.
Yes the crypts (that's what they are) are doing poorly! I wondered if I should have attached them to the wood. I will definitely look into root tabs thanks for the suggestion. The floating plant is actually fake. I have guppies and platys so I thought I'd put something in to at least give the fry a chance.

dougall

Mar 29, 2005
If you want something live for fry, try guppy grass or watersprite.. it will float, provides lots of hiding spots for fry and is easy to control.

I think changing the background is important; I'm not a huge fan of the placement of the wood either, I think it maybe needs to be positioned to make a stronger statement, and provide a focal point, rather than framing the aquarium.

I think letting plants grow in and become thicker will help.. I suspect the tank is a 10g tank, in which case the vals might prove to be too tall.